Crochet

I’ve been crocheting a lot late at night lately…and giving away FO’s before I’ve photographed them. So you’ll just have to take my word for it.

I’m learning that gauge swatching is tantamount to success in a garment. I crocheted a really cute cardigan in about 3 nights (a super quick pattern that is actually very enjoyable despite the repetitive stitches) and even though I knew it was going to be too small, I soldiered on. I don’t know if maybe I thought my bone structure was going to shrink in a matter of days down to an XS or maybe I’d get infected with a parasite that would cause 30 pounds to melt off my body and allow me to fit into this sweater. But I went on to almost finish it and then admitted defeat.

20120814-080434.jpg

Now I am coming to my senses and slowly frogging the damn thing and creating another top. Its more my speed; a measure-as-you-go type pattern. And I still haven’t done a gauge swatch.

Has anyone local been to the Yarn and Fiber Company in Derry? I’m hoping to check it out this weekend, an it’s the closest LYS to me since the shop in Nashua closed. I also want to go to a LYS in North Conway during our annual weekend trip in September. Any recommendations? Looks like Close Knit Sisters is right near where we’ll be staying…

Please visit my Ravelry page!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Julia - Aberrant Crochet
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 09:53:11

    Thanks for the link love! Good luck with the new project! I also am guilty of letting FOs go out the door before I have photographed them. It’s easier now that I have a phone camera, but still have to make a point if I want a record.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,356 hits
